Monday, May 10th: Atlanta Braves

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Anyone who knows me outside
of the ballpark knows I’m a huge Arnold Palmer drinker. The mix of lemonade and
iced tea just hits the spot, I don’t know why. Also, they know I’m continuously
spitting sunflower seeds. After stopping at my local gas station, it would seem
I hit the jack pot:

 

braves1 001.jpg


 

New brand and flavor of
seeds and a new bottle of Arnold Palmer! This literally made my day.

 

About 45 minutes later, I
found myself parked near the ballpark and wandering
Milwaukee‘s side streets:

 

braves1 002.jpg

 

Miller Park
peeking through the brush:

 

braves1 003.jpg

 

Isn’t that fitting? The
Brewers in the trash. Finally, the stadium comes fully into view, with an omen
lying in the grass:

 

braves1 004.jpg

 

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Time slowly passes by, and I
find myself ordering my standard meal inside the ballpark, the French dip.

 

braves1 005.jpg

 

























It’s pretty delicious and it’s served me
pretty well over the past homestands, as I’ve been ballhawking on a full
stomach. Shortly after putting the finishing touches on the French dip, Claudio
Vargas whipped me baseball number one, pictured below, and Casey McGehee hit me
number two.

 

braves1 006.jpg

 

























The only way to see Brewers
BP at
Miller Park
is to eat outside at Friday’s Front Row Sports Grille. However, there is a
massive overhang over half of the outdoor patio. It’s robbed about 50 baseballs
from me over its two year lifespan. Imagine you’re tracking a deep drive…

 

braves1 010.jpg

 

back tracking….

 

braves1 009.jpg

Back tracking some more,
looking up to catch the ball and seeing this disappointing sight;

braves1 011.jpg

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Yeah, that can ruin your
day. Soon enough, the rest of the park opens and I find myself en route to
right field when Troy Glaus lifts a deep fly ball in my general direction in
left field. I back up, adjust and gobble up baseball #3.

 

Upon my arrival in right field,
Brian McCann began to settle in. He hit a very, very deep fly ball about 30
feet to my left. Sprinting backwards and leftwards, I leap against a railing at
the last second and when reaching full extension, haul in baseball number 4.
Two pitches later, McCann lands another in my glove in nearly the same spot,
baseball #5.  Towards the end of the
round, McCann sends a third baseball in my direction, giving me my 6th
of the day.

 

The next round only had one
lefty, Jason Heyward. He’s injured, so he took it easy. I still managed to snag
a ball off the bat of the phenom, for my 7th of the day, and that
ended BP.

 

During
pre-game warm-ups, Roger McDowell tossed me number 8 out of the bullpen:

 

braves1 013.jpg

 










































The
game’s lineups via bullpen Coach Eddy Perez:

 

braves1 019.jpg

 

The
game went pretty embarrassingly for the Brewers, as they lost 8-2 to the
light-hitting Braves.

 

After
the game, bullpen Catcher Alan Butts threw me my 9th of the day,
behind the dugout:

 

braves1 020.jpg

 

And
that was all she wrote.

 

-Ballhawk
Shawn-9

-Braves-8

-Brewers-2




2 comments

Leave a Reply

